Winning the Lottery


Like most of us I aspire to getting published and, again like many of us I don’t like getting rejections. I complained to some friends a few months ago about how tired I was of feeling like any second I would get published, only to be dashed when I received a new rejection. I was tired of holding my breath.

 It’s easy for others to tell you that “you’re so close” but after awhile, you don’t believe them anymore. They’re just trying to be nice.

You win contests at local events, but you’re sure it was a fluke. Ok, you win them two years in a row, it’s still a fluke. A nice one, one that you are proud of but, um, you’re still not published.

Some people think that when I say I’ve given up it means “I’ve given up.” But for me it only means I’m trying to save face. Not for others, but for myself. I’m trying to convince myself that I don’t care. I still wrote, still sent out queries to agents, manuscripts to publishers, I just no longer believed that anything would actually happen.

And then it did. I have an agent! A total stranger likes my writing!

I’m back to hoping again. Can’t seem to stop it.

So, yes, perhaps my hopes will be dashed yet again, but for today…I’m flying high.

So, you also, even if you give up. Keep sending out those queries and mss. You never know when your turn will come.

~ by Gwen Dandridge on January 30, 2010.

9 Responses to “Winning the Lottery”

  1. I often think back to when I was first published by a small literary review. It helped that I knew the editor, or so I thought. But then a few months went by and I ran into her. She told me that the story I’d submitted had caused more debate, and rancor, among the staff than anything they’d ever received. Since it was an innocuous little piece, in my opinion, without any references to controversial topics, I asked her what all the argument had been about. She just smiled and shook her head, and I got the feeling that she had not taken my side after all. As for the source of the controversy, I never found out. Mysterious how others see something, or don’t, in one’s work. If it’s a lottery, the prize is an enigma. Getting published is just a beginning.
    TOG

  2. I am a doc for a living, and play semi-professional mandolin in a bluegrass band. I like to write and have a few published articles. I have an agent now. Of all these disciplines I find writing moves the slowest. It is not for the faint-haerted or the impatient, huh?

    Keep at it and good luck.

    Dr. B

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

  3. Congratulations! That is terribly exciting. I’m very glad you’re back to hoping again. That’s a big step. In the right direction, I assume 🙂

  4. I love the part about “trying to save face” and the whole idea of pretending that you don’t care when you do. It’s hard this whole writing for publication thing. Still, I’m so glad you didn’t give up. You know I love your work, and not just that, your work ethic. You kept on revising, kept on writing and kept on going. Congrats my friend!

  5. Thanks Lori. We’ve both been there. It’s hard sometimes. Writing is not for the faint of heart nor the thin-skinned. 🙂

  6. I’m so thrilled that I’ll be able to say I knew you when 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
