Inspiration


Inspiration comes so many ways. Sometimes it’s a feather touch of an idea that floats to the surface of your mind and other times it’s a search in the darkest cave for a glimmer of light that leads to a story line.

A year and a half ago I got the opportunity to live in New Zealand for five weeks. My husband had a fellowship at Canterbury University and I was able to telecommute to my then job at SBCC, in Santa Barbara.

One of the wonders that we came across was a sculpture in the Botanical Garden in ChristChurch. Every time we went to the gardens I stopped and stared. I never knew the story behind it but I keep thinking I would create one.  I haven’t yet done it, but it still pulls on my mind.

In the hopes that inspiration will come to me and you, I’m posting the picture. I’d love to hear what kinds of stories it brings to your minds.

~ by Gwen Dandridge on February 5, 2010.

7 Responses to “Inspiration”

  1. Ooh, it’s quite a picture. I wish I could see her face more clearly — seems like it’d be a sad story.

  2. It was so moving for me.

  3. What a fascinating sculpture. Something about it says ‘Mother’ to me. There’s definitely a story there…

  4. I think tens of people could look at that and each see a different story. Mother certainly rings true.

  5. There is an English folktale I used in The Last Stitch about a young man called Mathey Trewalla who follows a beautiful water-wight out over his death and drowns. The tale could be reworked to be the woman who follows a male water-wight . . .

  6. Beautiful pictures. I know you’ll find a story for them.

Leave a Reply

 
