Murky muddled middles


After the thrill of a cool beginning and that exhilarating first chapter where you launch your characters on a page and before the nifty keeno ending that resolves your manuscript, comes the middle.

I don’t particularly like them. Sometimes I find clever (or so I think) developments for the characters and sometimes I struggle for one hundred or so pages to create an arc that feels ‘right.’

Today I had an insight into one of my stories, a new arc for a secondary character that I’m pleased with. Insight that tie up plot lines with bows. Now, all that is left is to weave in all the other elements into the story so that everything that happens seems perfect and yet surprising.

Easy-peasy as a writerly friend says.

~ by Gwen Dandridge on February 13, 2010.

6 Responses to “Murky muddled middles”

  1. Gwen, you are reading my mind. Middles are like being lost in the maze. I am struggling with the same problem right now. Thanks for confirming that I am not alone.

    • I’m always jealous of those who are wonderful at middles, Maggie Stiefvater, Franciso X. Stork and Libba Bray. Or at least that is my take after reading their books.

      Good luck with yours.

  2. Oh that murky middle! You’ll have to tell me which book you had the insight on since your characters feel like friends now. I need the scoop on what’s up with them. 🙂

  3. Recently it was ‘Lady’, a section that you haven’t seen. 🙂

  4. I think it was Avi who wrote a book called The Beginning, The Muddle and The End. Sums it up perfectly. I always get stuck in the muddle.

  5. I love it! What a great title.

Leave a Reply

 
