Rewriting


Writing is about rewriting. How many times have we heard this mantra? And it is true with each pass of rewriting your piece solidifies, life is breathed into lines, characters expand.

This past week I’ve been working on sixty pages of rewrite from my agent. I’m hoping to plow through thirty pages a week.

Maybe.

It’s a challenge for me to get back into the heads of characters that I haven’t been thinking on for eight months or so. So for the next few months, I need to live and breathe with those people, the ones I created, the ones from the deep recesses of my brain. Them.

I was fretting about the process to a friend of mine yesterday. She said, ‘Do you know how many people would love to be in your position?”

I nodded and agreed. “I’m one of those people.”

~ by Gwen Dandridge on February 21, 2010.

7 Responses to “Rewriting”

  1. I love your posts Gwen. I can always hear your voice as I read them. I guess that’s why your writing is so strong — your voice always come through!

  2. High praise from you Sherrie, the magician with chapter endings and a very strong voice.

  3. I second Sherrie. It’s like talking to you over onion tart and tea. Man, you are an amazing cook. Maybe you should whip up some food that your characters might like. Cruet stew! I know those characters will get back into your head. Keep going!

  4. I write, correct, and publish or post. Either you have something to say or not. Rewriting is championed by people who have little or nothing to say—good writers are just being polite when they talk about its importance.
    TOG

  5. Stumbled on your blog and liked it a lot. This post was particularly pertinent for me right now since I’m going through and really cutting and rewriting chunks of the manuscript. It really gets old. But it almost always ends up being worth it.

Leave a Reply

 
